Books I’m Looking Forward to in 2017

So, on Thursday I went through my books I really enjoyed that were published in 2016. Today, I thought I’d write about some of the books I’m looking forward to in 2017!

  1. A Quiet Kind Of Thunder by Sara Barnard. I reviewed this book a while ago on the blog and I loved it. It’s absolutely fantastic and the good news is that it’s out in just a few days time, so there’s not long to go until you can get your hands on a copy. I won’t share too many of the plot details, but I dare you not to fall in love with Steffi and Rhys and their bond.
  2. Wing Jones by Katherine Webber. Firstly, I want to point out how lovely Katherine is to meet in real life! I met her briefly at the Walker Blogger Christmas Party around two weeks ago and we spoke briefly (I unfortunately had to leave afterwards) but from the brief conversation I had with her, my awkward self was able to determine that she’s lovely. Her book, described as perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and David Levithan, features Wing, a 15 year old girl with a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, but when tragedy strikes her family, she discovers a talent for running. Whilst I haven’t yet had the chance to read this book, it’s receiving a lot of buzz from readers who have been able to get their hands on a copy and I can’t wait to read it.
  3. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. I finished reading this particular book a few minutes before writing this post and I couldn’t leave it off. It publishes on the 6th April 2017 in the UK from Walker, but Walker gave advance copies to bloggers at the Christmas event. It’s an amazing book about a girl named Starr who lives in two worlds, her neighbourhood and her school. Then she becomes the sole witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend Khalil by a police officer, and finds herself in a position where she must say things that could destroy her community and even get her killed. It’s most likely one of the most, if not the most powerful novel that will be published next year. It’s a book that will make you think and will not only explore emotions in the characters but also make you confront your own thoughts, emotions and feelings towards the topics and issues this book presents. It’s amazing.
  4. The State of Grace by Rachel Lucas. This book is one that is highly sought after by publishers internationally. Here in the UK, Macmillan is publishing this novel about a teenage girl named Grace who is suffering with Asperger’s and who deals with anything life throws at her. I’m so excited to read this one, it sounds amazing and whilst we all still have to wait a few months to read this book, it definitely belongs on this list. I’m really looking forward to reading this one.

There are so many amazing looking books coming out next year (Jim and Debbie’s Spreadsheet here is a great place to start looking for books that you need to pre-order!) so there are plenty more that are on this list but I’d be writing this blog post forever, so here are just four of the books I’m looking forward to being released in 2017! Let me know if I’ve missed any!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s